How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Done a good mod that people might want to copy? Post it here - full step-by-step instructions and pix.

FAQs can go in here too
User avatar
Viking
Wheelie king
 
Posts: 1419
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:29 pm

How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Postby Viking » Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:37 am

Few guys seem interested in fitting one of these.

My bike is an 05 model. I've never seen behind the mask of an 07> so cant say if it's the same.

Gear indicator i went for is here...........
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DIGITAL-GEAR-INDICATOR-SHIFT-LIGHT-LEDs-motorsport-/380258483948?_trksid=p5197.m7&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D5%26po%3DLVI%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D3628518618126221884

Or direct site..........
http://www.cartek.biz/CARTEKShiftLights.html

I wanted one with a big display and shift lights at the top of the mask so its in the bottom of my vision when riding. There are smaller ones with only gear indication out there though.

Unit has 4 wires to connect in and one left free for set up.

Red wire goes to an ignition live.
My bike has a main on/off switch instead of a key but wires are the same. You can pick any of the switched lines, green/black, red/white.
Image

Black wire is the earth.
The top yoke is not a good enough earth so the wire has to be lenghtened. I ran a wire down the right side of the frame tube and earthed in on the front right 8mm bolt for the side trim. I have the quickshifter earthed here too. Note..... if you have an painted or powder coated subframe you will have to rub some off to get a contact, or just run extend your wire down and directly to the battery.

Blue wire is for the rpm signal.
This goes to the 3pin plug or the rev counter on the right side. Connect to the blue/white wire
Image

Green wire is for the road speed signal
This goes to the 3 pin plug from the speed sensor at the the front wheel. Connect to the orange/black wire
Image

On this unit there is a white wire that is used for setup. Unit can be set for various different background colours (red/purple/orange/green/blue) and is fully adjustable for min and max shift light settings.

To enter set up you put ingition on and touch white wire to earth. It then toggles though backlight/shiftlights/gears. Touch to earth at the one you want to set. Full instructions for all this are with the unit so i wont bore you with all that here.

To make it easy to set up i ran an earth and the white wire up to the left side of the mark so i can touch them easy for setting up gears. Just insulate them and tuck them away afterwards.
Image
THUNDERSPORT GB STREETFIGHTER CLASS A. 3rd 2013

http://www.spartanracing.co.uk

User avatar
Viking
Wheelie king
 
Posts: 1419
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Postby Viking » Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:43 am

I was considering counter sinking the unit into the dash but now it's fitted it works well as it is.
Image

Because it works on a calculation between road speed/rpm it shows 0 when statonary. It will only start to work when bike rolls at 1mph or above.
The only time i've managed to confuse it ( and i've tried like a champ :lol: ) is whn hoisting a long wheelie. Because the front wheel slows right down it will greadually drop down the gears as it thinks your dlowing down but cant work out why the revs are going up but wheel speed is going down, so it goes 3,2,1, the will jump back to the right gear once you land. Orif you roll at 2mph and blip the throttle. It can occationally jump from 1 to 3 for a split second. But tbh if your at 2mph rolling in traffic and need a gear indicator to tell you your in 1st it doesnt hold much hope :lol:

Perfect for track and fast road use. Changes instantly on both up and down shift even when going hard with the quickshifter and blipping on the downshifts.

Hope this helps someone.

Anyone with info from the 07> model feel free to add it.

:D
THUNDERSPORT GB STREETFIGHTER CLASS A. 3rd 2013

http://www.spartanracing.co.uk

User avatar
Bert
moderator
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:43 am
Location: Ghent, Belgium

Re: How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Postby Bert » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:07 am

Thanks for the tutorial mate!
2006 KTM Super Duke Titanium ~ Full Titanium Akra Evo ~ MH Motobox and flies
VW TSI 1.4 problemen

User avatar
Colonel_Klinck
moderator
 
Posts: 10368
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 7:23 pm
Location: North London UK. The right side of the river!

Re: How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Postby Colonel_Klinck » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:47 pm

Added to the Must Read Theads List :wink:
"They lie about marijuana. Tell you pot-smoking makes you unmotivated. Lie! When you're high, you can do everything you normally do, just as well. You just realise that it's not worth the f*cking effort. There is a difference."
The late Bill Hicks

User avatar
Razy
Stunt rider
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Kessingland, Suffolk

Re: How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Postby Razy » Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:27 pm

Cracking write up!

for the little cost and simple wiring i think that will be on my list of things to do. i want to do more track days next year and will be after a race mask so will be room for one of those and a rev counter.

User avatar
zoddas
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:42 am
Location: Norway

Re: How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Postby zoddas » Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:29 pm

Viking wrote:Anyone with info from the 07> model feel free to add it.


Encouraged by Vikings excellent tutorial, I ordered a CarTek gear indicator for my 2008 SD.
After a bit of fiddling I found a way to mount the display using a bit of an old plastic box and a dash of J-B Weld:

Image

I used the original power connectors for earth and power. With a bit of soldering the rest of the wires was connected in no time.
(The big flip switch on the handlebar is only for setup purposes).

Image

The unit is extremely easy to setup.
What limits have you programmed the shift light to, Viking?
SD - 08 - a fast black one.
Akra slip-ons
Motobox
Secondary flies and shafts - removed
SAS - removed
O2 - disabled
Crankcase breater mod

User avatar
Viking
Wheelie king
 
Posts: 1419
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Postby Viking » Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:33 pm

Good idea on the switch for setup. I'll do that myself.

I was fiddling with two loose wires.


Shift light start at 8000 and end at 9500. Rev limit is set at 9950 so it flashes just before it runs out of revs.
THUNDERSPORT GB STREETFIGHTER CLASS A. 3rd 2013

http://www.spartanracing.co.uk

edeher
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:23 pm

Re: How to Fit a Gear Indicator to your Superduke.

Postby edeher » Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:38 pm

great thread. ill be getting one myself


Return to How to do it!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests