Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Done a good mod that people might want to copy? Post it here - full step-by-step instructions and pix.

FAQs can go in here too
User avatar
alobar
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:39 pm
Location: Larissa,Greece

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby alobar » Fri May 22, 2015 7:24 am

looks very nice driftkr6l!!

does it work when the key is off or it has power only when the key is on?

User avatar
bauer
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:17 pm
Location: Bar cel ona

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby bauer » Fri May 22, 2015 8:21 am

That's it, neat and tidy!

User avatar
driftkr6l
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby driftkr6l » Fri May 22, 2015 12:59 pm

Thanks man. Yeah it has power with ignition off which some might not like, I dont mind.
2014 Superduke 1290R
-Bodis De-Cat pipe
-Evotech Frame Sliders
-TechSpec Tank Grip Pads
-PowerCommander 5
-Autotune AT-300
-K&N filter
-Rottweiler SAS and Canister removal kit
-ASV C5 levers

User avatar
bauer
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:17 pm
Location: Bar cel ona

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby bauer » Tue May 26, 2015 11:08 am

driftkr6l wrote:Thanks man. Yeah it has power with ignition off which some might not like, I dont mind.


Could we know the brand of the sockets? Or where did you got them? And, what is exactly the purpose of the 5V socket (having the 12V already installed)? Sorry for bothering, but I'm quite lost here! :oops:

Thank you!

User avatar
Max78
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby Max78 » Tue May 26, 2015 12:21 pm

bauer wrote:
driftkr6l wrote:Thanks man. Yeah it has power with ignition off which some might not like, I dont mind.


Could we know the brand of the sockets? Or where did you got them? And, what is exactly the purpose of the 5V socket (having the 12V already installed)? Sorry for bothering, but I'm quite lost here! :oops:

Thank you!


5V= Usb charger. Like a cellphone, gps, bluetooth Headset, Etc. :wink:

Great Idea Driftkr6l, I've seen several on Ebay but i wasn't sure where to install it :lol:

User avatar
driftkr6l
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby driftkr6l » Tue May 26, 2015 6:27 pm

Max is right, I bought a cell phone holder and I use the 5v to charge it. This is the exact one I bought.
RioRand Black 5V 2.1A USB Phone 12V Motorcycle Handlebar Handle Bar Clamp Charger Power Port Socket Set https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VF7HZF0/re ... zvb013XPPJ
2014 Superduke 1290R
-Bodis De-Cat pipe
-Evotech Frame Sliders
-TechSpec Tank Grip Pads
-PowerCommander 5
-Autotune AT-300
-K&N filter
-Rottweiler SAS and Canister removal kit
-ASV C5 levers

User avatar
bauer
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:17 pm
Location: Bar cel ona

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby bauer » Tue May 26, 2015 7:05 pm

Awesome! Thanks guys!

User avatar
Growler48
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby Growler48 » Sat Oct 10, 2015 3:20 am

ebags wrote:ACC1 is permanent active ACC2 is cotrolled by the ignition.


I'm trying to hook up my Autotune to the ACC2 wire, but I'm having a problem with it. With no load, the wire has 12V when the ignition switch is on. As soon as I connect the Autotune to it, the voltage goes to zero and stays at zero until power is cycled. The ACC1 wire works perfectly, but I need it to turn off when the ignition is turned off. Any suggestions as to what might be going on? Can't imagine a short somewhere. I didn't do anything that would cause that.
2014 SuperDuke 1290 R BLACK! 8)

User avatar
ktmguy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6100
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Townsville Qld, Aussie.

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby ktmguy » Sat Oct 10, 2015 7:52 am

Growler48 wrote:
I'm trying to hook up my Autotune to the ACC2 wire, but I'm having a problem with it. With no load, the wire has 12V when the ignition switch is on. As soon as I connect the Autotune to it, the voltage goes to zero and stays at zero until power is cycled. The ACC1 wire works perfectly, but I need it to turn off when the ignition is turned off. Any suggestions as to what might be going on? Can't imagine a short somewhere. I didn't do anything that would cause that.


This has been addressed before, I'm only helping as I don't want you to blow up anything.

First the ACC connections are too weak for the autotune as the power supply for the autotune also heats the elements in the lambda sensors.
Second the ACC2 is for the heated grips I believe and needs to be turned on to work.

The proper way to do it is as follows:
Install a fused 12 relay under the seat straight from the battery to feed the autotune. A 10 A in line fuse works fine.
Switch the relay on with a +12 v wire out of the alarms connector under the seat ( big ass connector with a sleeve around it).
That wire is easy to find with a test light or a volt meter. The power comes on when you turn the key on.
I can't remember what colour wire it is of the top of my head but if you want I can have a look tomorrow.
If you don't do anything stupid when young, you have nothing to smile about when old!


Image

User avatar
Growler48
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby Growler48 » Sat Oct 10, 2015 10:40 am

Thanks, KTMGuy! Didn't see anywhere that the Autotune was too much for that wire! If you don't mind providing that wire color, I'd appreciate it. Don't want to make any mistakes!
2014 SuperDuke 1290 R BLACK! 8)

User avatar
ktmguy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6100
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Townsville Qld, Aussie.

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby ktmguy » Sun Oct 11, 2015 9:38 pm

Growler48 wrote:Thanks, KTMGuy! Didn't see anywhere that the Autotune was too much for that wire! If you don't mind providing that wire color, I'd appreciate it. Don't want to make any mistakes!


It's the red (orangy red) wire on the corner of the connector, next to the green one on the other corner.
If you put a tester on there it will come on after Key on. Use that one to switch the relay on, not to power the autotune!
The power for the autotune is direct from the battery over a fuse and the relay.
If you don't do anything stupid when young, you have nothing to smile about when old!


Image

User avatar
Growler48
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby Growler48 » Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:30 pm

OK, found the wire. That's going to be a challenge to tap into.

This might be a stupid question, but since neither this wire nor the ACC2 wire can run the Autotune, and I'm just looking for a switched wire, why can't I use the ACC2 wire? Would be a lot easier.
2014 SuperDuke 1290 R BLACK! 8)

User avatar
Growler48
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby Growler48 » Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:13 pm

If you're running a PDM 60, you CAN in fact use the ACC2 accessory wire as the ignition trigger for the Autotune 300. You don't need a relay and you don't need to tap into the wire that KTMGuy mentioned. I'm sure that wire will work just fine, but it's a whole lot harder to get to than the ACC2 wire. If you don't have the PDM 60, KTMGuy's method is probably the best.
2014 SuperDuke 1290 R BLACK! 8)

User avatar
Twist
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 8:07 pm
Location: Annapolis MD

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby Twist » Fri Jun 17, 2016 11:15 am

I came across this video showing the 12V accessory wiring included on the bike:

https://youtu.be/yVpJXAq_IHI
Babying your motorcycle for it's resale value is like not having sex with your girlfriend so she'll be fresher for the next guy.

Miff_UK
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Switched 12V on 1290 for accessories

Postby Miff_UK » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:09 pm

111 wrote:OK, I give, What's a magic dongle?

Has anyone seen or bought one of these ? Are they expensive ?
I'm used to popping wheelies over bumps on the 990, and won't be switching the non adjustable TC on..

Miff

Previous

Return to How to do it!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest