new Sd-R in GA

introduce yourself
SpeedyR
Two wheeled terror

new Sd-R in GA

Postby SpeedyR » Mon Aug 15, 2016 9:14 pm

Well, I've posted a few times but figured I'd post up an official introduction. Bought a 2015 used a few weeks ago. just over 1k miles on it, but the kicker for me was the full Akra Evo system installed. :) That was my main requirement in looking for a used SuperDuke. Also has the factory heated grips. :)

I have mostly been riding off road/dual sport the past few years. I had a KTM 200, then a 450 XC (tagged), and a 950 Super Enduro. Stupid fun and just like the 1290, it's my "over the top" off road beast. I ride it a fair amount off road and have done 3 or 4 hare scrambles with the 950 so it's not afraid of the dirt.

I started riding on the street around when I turned 30, and had a few lightweight twins (mostly Honda Hawk GT NT650s) and raced the Hawk and SV with WERA (some sprints, some endurance racing) in the early 90's. Good fun. After that just went to doing track days, and street riding. I had a couple of R6's (99 and 2000 put probably 40k miles on those in 2 or 3 years), FJR1300 (fun two up on the track), and finally an 08 CBR1000rr. Lots of track days with that one, but sold it 4 years ago and went to all off road stuff with my 450 and bought the 950 SE right about the time I sold the 1k.

fast forward to this year, and the itch to get a street bike again. Wanted something comfortable that I could ride 2-4 hours on the freeway if needed but would still handle and have enough power to have some fun on the track. With my orange Kool-Aid drinking, why not the 1290 SuperDuke??? :) I considered the Tuono 1100 (I briefly had a Mille R at some point in there) but was a bit more track focused, and the S1000r (two friends have RR versions (and one HP4) but didn't like the looks and the 4 cylinder just didn't speak to me). Even considered the Ducati MultiStrada, but a bit too touring orientated.