990 instrument cluster Fail

problems . solutions . product reviews . tips
User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:19 am

I'm have a problem with my clocks/ instrument cluster. Just fueled up for gas and took a break from my all day ride.
Got back in the saddle and nothing lighting up on the dash. Completely dead
So my headlights do work both HI/low. Brake lamps OK
Horn works and no fuses faulted, However in my fuse bank the #10 spot is blank, I mean theres no metal housing in the slot to receive the fuse blades, Is this normal? It's just an empty slot.

Anyway was wondering if you had a procedure on diagnosing the issue and fixing the problem?
On the back end of this I will be calling KTM North America in California to ask if they can replace the clocks. So no riding, commuting or getting around town for me until resolved. Not good.

Any advice, appreciated.
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:27 am

Doesn't sound like an instrument problem, they are prone to fading and losing the display but I can't recall one stopping the bike from going.

Sounds more like a broken wire or loose connection somewhere.

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:38 am

The trouble shooting section in the workshop manual say if the dash is not working to replace the horn brake light speedo fuse. If that's all good maybe check for power there and start tracking it forward or back depending if there's power at that fuse.

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:00 am

Yeah I agree. I'm pulling it apart tonight see how it's not getting power
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:16 am

Hope it's easy to find, wires seem to chafe fairly easy on these.

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:27 am

Well the strange bit is that It worked agin yesterday....
No power to the cluster for a week then out of nowhere it turned back on and started up... But once again today, nothing.
I'm diving in to it at the moment.
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:44 am

Certainly sounds like a loose connection or chafed wire

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2773
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby No. 47 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:27 am

If it’s just the speedo unit, from Soft 32 Dat 101 thread - check for broken red/white wire at 12 pole connector to bottom lhs (sitting on the bike) behind headlamp - from the wiring diagram, this appears to be the power source (excluding backlight) for the speedo unit - manual is wrong/inconsistent re description for this connector and the one above as the bottom one is definitely for the front wiring loom including the speedo unit.
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:52 am

Well I disassembled the cluster, cleaned it and put it back,
nothing happened, Lamps good but no power to cluster.
all fuses good.
I suppose the next step would be to put a multi meter on each wire plugging into the back of the clocks
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:12 am

Have you checked the one suggested by no47 above?


Return to Technical - Dr F's Words of Wisdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests