TuneECU: Official Topic!

problems . solutions . product reviews . tips
User avatar
Bert
moderator
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:43 am
Location: Ghent, Belgium

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby Bert » Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:08 pm

kowekiller wrote:[...]

I uncheck all options and then hit download. Download goes through smoothly and all options remain unchecked but I still have codes. I do not have the 02 delete kit or unpluged,just unchecked in Tuneecu. Matbe thats it. Do i need the resistors? the codes are P0022(something like that) and 2nd flies code. Ill have a look tonight and post them up. I may try plugging it into a desktop computer and see what happens.


Like I said in the previous message, there is no need to disconnect the O2 sensors. And you don't need resistors or what not connected.

Connect your bike to a PC and do a fresh read of the map ('ECU' > 'Read Map'). Verify that all items that need to be unchecked are indeed unchecked.
If they are not, uncheck them and download the map to the bike.
After that erase error codes via 'ECU' > 'Erase Error Codes'.
2006 KTM Super Duke Titanium ~ Full Titanium Akra Evo ~ MH Motobox and flies
VW TSI 1.4 problemen

User avatar
Colonel_Klinck
moderator
 
Posts: 10368
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 7:23 pm
Location: North London UK. The right side of the river!

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby Colonel_Klinck » Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:15 pm

MrZ32 wrote:klink... i sent through the email.



Yeah got them and they are up m8.

Did you see my reply?
"They lie about marijuana. Tell you pot-smoking makes you unmotivated. Lie! When you're high, you can do everything you normally do, just as well. You just realise that it's not worth the f*cking effort. There is a difference."
The late Bill Hicks

User avatar
Doon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 4:53 am
Location: Wanaka, New Zealand

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby Doon » Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:46 pm

When you uncheck the boxes I thought you had to do a save as first ,then sent to the ecu.
Thats what I have been doing.
2007 SDR, GSXR 1000 Scorpion Pipe, ITG foam filter,Rc8 stacks, PCV with autotune,basic breather mod, dual seat conversion.

User avatar
kowekiller
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:04 am
Location: Chatsworth CA

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby kowekiller » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:54 am

Good question. Wifes almost home so I can go fiddle with the bike.
.
If it has tits or wheels I'll ride it!
2008 SDR
SoCal

User avatar
MrZ32
Trackday hero
 
Posts: 2480
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:19 am
Location: QLD, Oz

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby MrZ32 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:24 am

Colonel_Klinck wrote:
MrZ32 wrote:klink... i sent through the email.



Yeah got them and they are up m8.

Did you see my reply?

Yes.. Thanks mate.

All, these are maps that will run fairly smoothely without you having to worry about a custom map that could be too lean for your bike. The akra map is plenty rich enough for just about any mod you can throw at your bike (bolt on). Those who think that the akra isn't rich enough.. Go replace your graphite seal and then re test for a TRUE result
08 SD, WP Dampener, 'Suspension Improvements" tuned sus (springs, valves, shim stacks ), KTM cowl, R&G carbon covers, Termi Pipes (from a duc 998), Grim990 Airbox, breather mod, SAS plates, tuneECU PDI tune, HM QS, JTM VS & DVS

Eyeflow
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:29 am
Location: Norway

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby Eyeflow » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:01 am


User avatar
jambox
Trackday hero
 
Posts: 2024
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:18 pm
Location: Perth. The shite cold one, not the decent warm one

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby jambox » Thu Jan 19, 2012 5:51 pm

Eyeflow wrote:any one tried this cable w/ positive results?

http://www.dualsportwarehouse.com/CJ-Designs-Tune-Ecu-Cables-For-KTM-Engines-TUNE-C-KTM.htm

Image

/Mats


Think they are the ones that Powercell had something to do with. If they are, then a lot of people have had good results from them.

User avatar
kowekiller
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:04 am
Location: Chatsworth CA

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby kowekiller » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:09 pm

Alright. Got the bike loaded up againlast night and cleared all codes using the upper tool bar.
If it has tits or wheels I'll ride it!
2008 SDR
SoCal

User avatar
omky756
Wheelie king
 
Posts: 1158
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Ventura,Ca.93001-Sunny So.Calif...

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby omky756 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:20 pm

kowekiller wrote:Alright. Got the bike loaded up againlast night and cleared all codes using the upper tool bar.


Killer..!!
8)

User avatar
kowekiller
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:04 am
Location: Chatsworth CA

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby kowekiller » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:28 pm

omky756 wrote:
kowekiller wrote:Alright. Got the bike loaded up againlast night and cleared all codes using the upper tool bar.


Killer..!!
8)


I do believe I owe you a thanks Sir!
If it has tits or wheels I'll ride it!
2008 SDR
SoCal

fusca95
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:31 pm

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby fusca95 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:43 pm

Gentlemen, this is my first post.
I live in Brazil and I have one of the few SuperDuke 990 10-10 of this country.
I found the forum a little time here and met tuneECO. My bike has a yield far below expectations, barely walking with a honda hornet 600cc. I read the ECU and I realised that my map is the same as Europe.
I have some doubts and I hope you can help me: The connection to the engine always falls on, what do I do? Is there a map for setting the A / F? In Brazil we have the E22 as fuel standard.
Thank you all.

User avatar
ktmguy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6100
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Townsville Qld, Aussie.

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby ktmguy » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:52 am

fusca95 wrote:Gentlemen, this is my first post.
I live in Brazil and I have one of the few SuperDuke 990 10-10 of this country.
I found the forum a little time here and met tuneECO. My bike has a yield far below expectations, barely walking with a honda hornet 600cc. I read the ECU and I realised that my map is the same as Europe.
I have some doubts and I hope you can help me: The connection to the engine always falls on, what do I do? Is there a map for setting the A / F? In Brazil we have the E22 as fuel standard.
Thank you all.


I had the same problem of disconnecting as soon as I started the engine. Soldering the shield on the negative pin of the USB ODB connector and fitting a ferrite choke fixed the problem.
I should do a how to of this one of these days.....
If you don't do anything stupid when young, you have nothing to smile about when old!


Image

K-Mac
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:05 pm
Location: Yokosuka, Japan

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby K-Mac » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:38 am

ktmguy wrote:
fusca95 wrote:Gentlemen, this is my first post.
I live in Brazil and I have one of the few SuperDuke 990 10-10 of this country.
I found the forum a little time here and met tuneECO. My bike has a yield far below expectations, barely walking with a honda hornet 600cc. I read the ECU and I realised that my map is the same as Europe.
I have some doubts and I hope you can help me: The connection to the engine always falls on, what do I do? Is there a map for setting the A / F? In Brazil we have the E22 as fuel standard.
Thank you all.


I had the same problem of disconnecting as soon as I started the engine. Soldering the shield on the negative pin of the USB ODB connector and fitting a ferrite choke fixed the problem.
I should do a how to of this one of these days.....


Yes, please do it....like now. :-)
2018 KTM 1290 Super Duke R
2016 KTM 690 Duke R
2014 Aprilia Tuono V4R APRC ABS

User avatar
Bert
moderator
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:43 am
Location: Ghent, Belgium

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby Bert » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:52 pm

K-Mac wrote:
ktmguy wrote:[...]

I had the same problem of disconnecting as soon as I started the engine. Soldering the shield on the negative pin of the USB ODB connector and fitting a ferrite choke fixed the problem.
I should do a how to of this one of these days.....


Yes, please do it....like now. :-)

Look here (scroll down to 'UPDATE'). The site also has a picture:
Image
So, solder a wire to the outer shielding of the USB cable and connect it to the pin of the plug shown in the picture.
Ferrite thingies can be bought in an electronics store and snap over the cable.
2006 KTM Super Duke Titanium ~ Full Titanium Akra Evo ~ MH Motobox and flies
VW TSI 1.4 problemen

User avatar
omky756
Wheelie king
 
Posts: 1158
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Ventura,Ca.93001-Sunny So.Calif...

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby omky756 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:06 pm

Bert wrote:
K-Mac wrote:
ktmguy wrote:[...]

I had the same problem of disconnecting as soon as I started the engine. Soldering the shield on the negative pin of the USB ODB connector and fitting a ferrite choke fixed the problem.
I should do a how to of this one of these days.....


Yes, please do it....like now. :-)

Look here (scroll down to 'UPDATE'). The site also has a picture:
Image
So, solder a wire to the outer shielding of the USB cable and connect it to the pin of the plug shown in the picture.
Ferrite thingies can be bought in an electronics store and snap over the cable.


THANKS BERT..!!
8)

User avatar
Vortex155
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:17 pm
Location: Antwerp

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby Vortex155 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:50 pm

Never had any problems with my tune ecu cable I solderd out of an old usb cable, that cable is completely isolated with alu shield.
My cable is rather large bout 2m, so I can take my notebook upon a table to do some adjustments @ my RC8.

Think the most problems arrive with cheap FDTI chipsets inside the usb connector.
Have bought another obd2/usb cable form another supplier, this is for a TuneECU cable I'm gonna make for a Dutch guy from RC8 forum, shall see if it works out with that connector and with the ready made female obd2 with ain't shielded.
I now have the advantage that I have 2 obd2/usb connectors and 2 obd2/B6PA connectors, so troubleshooting will be easy.
Vortex155 on twitter

User avatar
omky756
Wheelie king
 
Posts: 1158
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Ventura,Ca.93001-Sunny So.Calif...

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby omky756 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:19 pm

It's interesting..Not being a techy...I don't quite see why...
but with the same computer and cable..
Cable has the shielding and USB grounding done too..
One '08 SD and one '08 SDR...
Connects perfectly without freezing up or dissconnecting on the SD...
However...
Different story for the SDR...
SDR is more tempermental...anyone with ideas or run accross this..??
8)

K-Mac
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:05 pm
Location: Yokosuka, Japan

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby K-Mac » Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:02 pm

Bert wrote:
K-Mac wrote:
ktmguy wrote:[...]

I had the same problem of disconnecting as soon as I started the engine. Soldering the shield on the negative pin of the USB ODB connector and fitting a ferrite choke fixed the problem.
I should do a how to of this one of these days.....


Yes, please do it....like now. :-)

Look here (scroll down to 'UPDATE'). The site also has a picture:
Image
So, solder a wire to the outer shielding of the USB cable and connect it to the pin of the plug shown in the picture.
Ferrite thingies can be bought in an electronics store and snap over the cable.


Thanks Bart. The inside of my cable looks different.
2018 KTM 1290 Super Duke R
2016 KTM 690 Duke R
2014 Aprilia Tuono V4R APRC ABS

User avatar
Tom-Hamburg
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby Tom-Hamburg » Sat Jan 28, 2012 6:06 pm

Remember, the Aprilia OBDII-Pin5 used for grounding, but KTM's OBDII-Pin4 uses for grounding.

The picture from Moto Abruzzo is for Aprilia

BR, Tom
Triumph Speed Triple 1050
Triumph Rocket Roadster

User avatar
ktmguy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6100
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Townsville Qld, Aussie.

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby ktmguy » Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:50 am

To avoid disconnection issues check and fix the following:
Make sure the shield of the USB cable is fixed to the negative of the cable. See the wire and shield together in the heat shrink in the following picture.
Image
I de-soldered the cable, stripped it back a bit, joined the shield and the negative and soldered it all back on with some heatshrink around it.

I also fitted a ferrite choke on the cable as you see here:
Image

On my bike Tuneecu disconnected as soon as I started the engine, these 2 mods fixed the issue and now it stays on no problem.
If you don't do anything stupid when young, you have nothing to smile about when old!


Image

iannowi
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:34 am

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby iannowi » Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:09 am

hi guys, I recently bought a 2007 SDR..lots more fun to ride than my last bike [2007 Z1000]...the thing is, the more I read about this tune ecu business the more I get the urge to go ahead and do it....not necessarily to get more bhp but for a smoother, less snatchy ride. Also thinking MH box, sas removal, 02 off. Can someone please advise me of how I should get started[ecu cable and sas plates on order].how difficult a process is it for a novice.. I have also tried to open up the .hex maps on the very fist page of this thread, but cant seem to get them open...is there a way around this problem...any advise would be appreciated..thanx Ian

User avatar
jambox
Trackday hero
 
Posts: 2024
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:18 pm
Location: Perth. The shite cold one, not the decent warm one

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby jambox » Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:16 pm

iannowi wrote:hi guys, I recently bought a 2007 SDR..lots more fun to ride than my last bike [2007 Z1000]...the thing is, the more I read about this tune ecu business the more I get the urge to go ahead and do it....not necessarily to get more bhp but for a smoother, less snatchy ride. Also thinking MH box, sas removal, 02 off. Can someone please advise me of how I should get started[ecu cable and sas plates on order].how difficult a process is it for a novice.. I have also tried to open up the .hex maps on the very fist page of this thread, but cant seem to get them open...is there a way around this problem...any advise would be appreciated..thanx Ian


To open up the .hex maps, you need to download/install the TuneECU program from the website, then open the .hex from "File, Open" (after downloading the map of course) on the main TE screen.

It's easy to use once you've had a play with it

iannowi
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:34 am

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby iannowi » Sun Jan 29, 2012 3:45 pm

Many thanks jambox....it makes a bit more sense now...now for my next question....with there being so many different maps to choose from, any ideas for a 2007 sdr..slip on HPCorse exhaust....I want to remove sas and eliminate the o2 sensors....not yet bought the MH box, but the bike has a BMC air filter....any ideas which would suit...thanx

User avatar
jambox
Trackday hero
 
Posts: 2024
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:18 pm
Location: Perth. The shite cold one, not the decent warm one

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby jambox » Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:05 pm

Seeing as not much has been done to it I'd recommend:

07+ EU SD Akra Smoothened
https://files.me.com/craig.wiltshire/lh0tru

07+ US SD Akra Smoothened
https://files.me.com/craig.wiltshire/pk22jr

Depending where you are. :wink:

If using one of the above, the O2 sensors have already been turned off in TE, so no need to fit eliminators. As for the SAS, if it hasn't been removed/blocked yet, leave it turned on in TE as it will cause popping/banging as I found out.

For other maps, there are loads here viewtopic.php?f=18&t=14763

User avatar
emuexport
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 12:31 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: TuneECU: Official Topic!

Postby emuexport » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:20 pm

Whats a good map for 09 SD with akros, no baffs, motobox & no 2nd flies?
2009 SuperDuke with Akrapovic Pipes, MotoBox, PCIII, SAS removed, O2 sensors removed, Scottoiler, Motoflies, Moto Clutch cover, moto heel guards, Rizoma levers. Seat cover from biketec.de Shoed with: Pirelli SuperCorsas

PreviousNext

Return to Technical - Dr F's Words of Wisdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests