Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

problems . solutions . product reviews . tips
Stalter706
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:47 pm

Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby Stalter706 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:28 pm

I have an 08 Super Duke 990R and am interested in getting a Power Commander V. They do not list a PCV for the 08 standard 990 on the Power Comander website. I called someone there, however he was not the brightest, and told me that no Power Commander would fit my bike. Now I know this cannot be true, I have seen them on 990Rs before. So my question is, which PCV will work? I briefly remember reading that the 990 SMT will work, but the ground is a little too short. ?? any help would be much appreciated!

User avatar
ktmguy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6100
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Townsville Qld, Aussie.

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby ktmguy » Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:37 pm

The R's have different coil packs and the connectors don't fit.
I know that people have been fitting them and someone had his bike at Dynojet to sort it out.
Not sure what the outcome was. You can do a search on the forum it will pop up.

The normal SD version would fit as it is the same but either you don't use the ignition side or fit different connectors if you can't find the proper model.
If you don't do anything stupid when young, you have nothing to smile about when old!


Image

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby No. 47 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:39 pm

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22602 - never did get an answer........
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

Stalter706
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:47 pm

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby Stalter706 » Sat Mar 21, 2015 2:02 pm

Update: so last night I got the PCV hooked up for the 08 SDR, with the exception of the coils. Today I am going to try and get the coil leads spliced into the PCV harness. The three wires out of the coil are ground, O2, and ECU. If I am not mistaken the PCV intercepts the signal from the ECU to the coil. We will see how this goes! haha

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby No. 47 » Sat Mar 21, 2015 3:09 pm

So in to where are you spicing the additional coil pack wire?
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

Stalter706
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:47 pm

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby Stalter706 » Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:02 pm

I spliced the PCV into the coil side wiring, intercepting the signal from the ECU to the coil. However, right now I am not getting spark to either cylinder.... :roll: scratching my head as to why this didn't work.

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby No. 47 » Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:53 pm

PC5 has two wires to each coil to suit the two wires from each coil for the SD but SDR has three wires coming from each coil - can understand ECU and earth but puzzled by your reference to the third being O2 - will have a look at SDR wiring diagram tomorrow.
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
ktmguy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6100
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Townsville Qld, Aussie.

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby ktmguy » Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:16 am

Stalter706 wrote:Update: so last night I got the PCV hooked up for the 08 SDR, with the exception of the coils. Today I am going to try and get the coil leads spliced into the PCV harness. The three wires out of the coil are ground, O2, and ECU. If I am not mistaken the PCV intercepts the signal from the ECU to the coil. We will see how this goes! haha


I didn't look at the diagram yet but normally there is NO ground or negative to the coil! Coil gets positive and the ecu switches the negative.
If you don't do anything stupid when young, you have nothing to smile about when old!


Image

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby No. 47 » Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:09 am

Quick comparison of the 07/08 SD and 08 SDR wiring diagrams - looks like the additional third wire to the SDR coil packs is just an earth?

I'm no electrician but does that mean just an additional grounded earth wire, spliced in between each coil pack and the connectors, is needed?
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

Stalter706
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:47 pm

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby Stalter706 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:10 am

I could not figure out why it would not fire so one of the technicians I work with took over. It is up and running now. But I did not have any time to talk to him about what he changed. Tuesday morning I will get more answers. He is the best mechanic I have ever met and has an electrical engineering degree. Needless to say it took him 3 hours to splice in the coils. The mysterious third wire coming from the coils is the ground. This is because the coil on an 08 SDR grounds off of the secondary side of the coil instead of the primary unlike every other bike (except maybe the Ducati). Now on to the next hurdle... We do not have a Dyno at the dealership I work at. So finding a performance map for BMC filter, FMF exhaust, and Cam 2 gasoline is impossible. I am going to schedule a dyno tune at our other location and take a day off to go tune it. right now it is just running a little too lean by itself. No lean crack, just not where I would like it.

Stalter706
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:47 pm

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby Stalter706 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:16 am

No. 47 wrote:Quick comparison of the 07/08 SD and 08 SDR wiring diagrams - looks like the additional third wire to the SDR coil packs is just an earth?

I'm no electrician but does that mean just an additional grounded earth wire, spliced in between each coil pack and the connectors, is needed?


exactly. why KTM decided to ground the coils off the secondary is puzzling. But they only seemed to do this on the 08 SDR as far as I know. and again, it is the only bike I have seen that grounds this way. I left the connectors alone and spliced the PVC connectors into the coil side.

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby No. 47 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 6:50 am

More info. and photos when you can would be very helpful.
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
bazz21
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 8:28 am
Location: great alpine road oz

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby bazz21 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 7:46 am

why not tune ecu

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby No. 47 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:28 am

For me, I'd like to try AutoTune add on to PCV.
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

Stalter706
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:47 pm

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby Stalter706 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 6:44 pm

No. 47 wrote:More info. and photos when you can would be very helpful.


I have class all day today, but I will post some up tomorrow for you.

User avatar
hossa00
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 1:31 am
Location: Germany Cologne

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby hossa00 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:07 am

any news how to do it ?

Stalter706
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:47 pm

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby Stalter706 » Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:40 pm

Sorry guys, I haven't been feeling so well and the weather has been awful here the last few days. But I will get you photos and a quick DIY explanation.

Titan427
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:00 am

Re: Question... Power Commander V for SDR 990?

Postby Titan427 » Sat May 09, 2015 2:38 am

I'm definitely waiting eagerly to see how this turned out; I got a PCV and by the time I was finally able to get to the install and realise it wouldn't actually work, it was too late to return the damn thing :cry:


Return to Technical - Dr F's Words of Wisdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests