GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

problems . solutions . product reviews . tips
User avatar
Grallesh
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:21 pm
Location: Belgium

GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby Grallesh » Sun Apr 17, 2016 11:39 pm

Hey fellows,

i'm fairly new to the superduke
so dont laugh at me for being a noob here.. :oops:

i recently bought a 2008 superduke 990
and got a tomtom rider 400 from my girlfriend as a present to go with it.. (pretty sweet indeed!)

now to give you an idea of my knowledge so far.
it took me about 15 minutes to even figure out where the battery was located,
when i found out it wasn't under the seat like with most motorcycles i've seen.. :oops:
so bare with me here..

can anyone tell me where to tap into a switched 12v source for my GPS.
and while you're at it, could you guys also give some advice for the best way to connect and run the wire to my handlebars?

That would be helpfull to me so freaking much! :D

ps: it would probably be a great idea to include pictures to go with it for ..eh... explanatory purposes... :? :D

much appreciation and love,
Grallesh

User avatar
Xfanman
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:48 pm
Location: Highland, MI USA

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby Xfanman » Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:03 am

Very simple on your bike. Tucked behind your headlight mask are two connections marked ACC1 and ACC2. One is for switched power with your ignition and the other for constant power (I don't remember which is which at the moment but my guess would be ACC1 is switched).

Scott
Scott

'08 KTM SDR
'98 Triumph Trophy 1200
'01 Honda XR650R

User avatar
Grallesh
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:21 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby Grallesh » Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:56 am

oh. that sounds quite simple indeed,
lemme give a look later today.

User avatar
Grallesh
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:21 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby Grallesh » Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:45 am

aaaand you where absolutely right! :)
thanks a bunch mate.

i couldn't find a acc2 connection tho..
but the acc1 connection is indeed switched.
good to go now :)


btw, i dont know if this is normal but..
when i had the headlight mask down and i connected the acc1 to my gps,
i tried to start up the bike to check if it was indeed switched.
and the bike just wouldn't start up. (gps got power tho)
and when i put the mask up again (without changing annything to the cables) it started without a problem..
is this normal? could it be a bad connection somewhere?

greets and thanks again,
Grallesh

User avatar
Sarasota_Steve
moderator
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:14 pm
Location: Sarasota, FL, USA

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby Sarasota_Steve » Mon Apr 18, 2016 11:49 am

Grallesh wrote:aaaand you where absolutely right! :)
thanks a bunch mate.

i couldn't find a acc2 connection tho..
but the acc1 connection is indeed switched.
good to go now :)


btw, i dont know if this is normal but..
when i had the headlight mask down and i connected the acc1 to my gps,
i tried to start up the bike to check if it was indeed switched.
and the bike just wouldn't start up. (gps got power tho)
and when i put the mask up again (without changing annything to the cables) it started without a problem..
is this normal? could it be a bad connection somewhere?

greets and thanks again,
Grallesh


I think that's due to the tip over sensor.

More knowledgeable forum members may want to confirm or deny this statement. Please. I don't want to confuse the guy.
Ride Hard,
------------------
Sarasota_Steve
08 990 SDR

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2823
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby No. 47 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 11:56 am

Aye, 'tis tip over sensor.
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
Grallesh
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:21 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby Grallesh » Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:36 pm

oh cool!
i didnt even know that was a thing.. :p
knowledge acquired!

thanks a bunch! :)

User avatar
Xfanman
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:48 pm
Location: Highland, MI USA

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby Xfanman » Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:22 pm

Grallesh wrote:aaaand you where absolutely right! :)
thanks a bunch mate.

i couldn't find a acc2 connection tho..
but the acc1 connection is indeed switched.
good to go now :)


btw, i dont know if this is normal but..
when i had the headlight mask down and i connected the acc1 to my gps,
i tried to start up the bike to check if it was indeed switched.
and the bike just wouldn't start up. (gps got power tho)
and when i put the mask up again (without changing annything to the cables) it started without a problem..
is this normal? could it be a bad connection somewhere?

greets and thanks again,
Grallesh


Glad it worked out for you Grallesh!!

Scott
Scott

'08 KTM SDR
'98 Triumph Trophy 1200
'01 Honda XR650R

User avatar
Grallesh
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:21 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby Grallesh » Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:25 pm

Xfanman wrote:
Grallesh wrote:aaaand you where absolutely right! :)
thanks a bunch mate.

i couldn't find a acc2 connection tho..
but the acc1 connection is indeed switched.
good to go now :)


btw, i dont know if this is normal but..
when i had the headlight mask down and i connected the acc1 to my gps,
i tried to start up the bike to check if it was indeed switched.
and the bike just wouldn't start up. (gps got power tho)
and when i put the mask up again (without changing annything to the cables) it started without a problem..
is this normal? could it be a bad connection somewhere?

greets and thanks again,
Grallesh


Glad it worked out for you Grallesh!!

Scott


thanks mate :) learning every day :D

canucklehead
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:18 pm

Re: GPS power source on a SD 990 '08

Postby canucklehead » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:17 pm

I just finished installing an 'AMPS' mount for my Garmin Montana 650 - used the ACC2 cable under the headlight mask, and it works PERFECTLY. Had considered ACC1, but thought it prudent to only charge the device when the bike is running to prevent any issues with parasitic drain.


Return to Technical - Dr F's Words of Wisdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests