TPSensor High erratic idle

problems . solutions . product reviews . tips
User avatar
dread
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:30 am

TPSensor High erratic idle

Postby dread » Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:33 am

Been struggling with the erratic high idle problem (which briefly resets with toggling of the ignition) for a long time.
I have decided it may well be a faulty TPS.
As I have disabled the Secondary flies. I am thinking are the secondary fly TPS and the main one the same part so I could substitute the part to try it out ?

Do hope so as i have already changed the stepper and messed with tps voltage settings to no avail.

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: TPSensor High erratic idle

Postby No. 47 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:36 am

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=19394&p=239014&hilit=tps#p239014 and http://www.lc8.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=51481 - bad news=not same part (number at least) apparently, good news = TPS available separately - have spare if you'd like to try before you buy - where are you based?
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
dread
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:30 am

Re: TPSensor High erratic idle

Postby dread » Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:51 pm

Cheers for the info, I am in Derbyshire.

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: TPSensor High erratic idle

Postby No. 47 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:55 pm

Let me know if you want to borrow my spare.
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
dread
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:30 am

Re: TPSensor High erratic idle

Postby dread » Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:58 pm

I have just noticed the voltage to the ecu as shown on Tunecu is only 11.8-12 volts so this could well be the problem.
I will clean up under the chin fairing and see if I can increase a bit, must be a wiring problem as it spins over well enough.

Thanks for the kind offer.


Return to Technical - Dr F's Words of Wisdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests