MTC Failure - 2016 SDGT

problems . solutions . product reviews . tips
jraderma
Minimoto racer

MTC Failure - 2016 SDGT

Postby jraderma » Wed Oct 04, 2017 6:03 pm

Greetings all. I've been perusing this forum since I bought my 2016 SDGT new this past March and I appreciate all the info I have gathered. Perhaps you'll allow me to ask for something more specific after searching for "MTC Failure" on the forum already?

My SDGT only has a few mods, none of which are engine or fuel related: Puig windshield, Knight Design foot pegs and a Denali Soundbomb air horn. It's got a little under 6K miles on it and I am very meticulous about maintenance having owned several bikes in the last 20+ years.

The other day, I was preparing to stop in traffic and noticed "MTC failure" blinking on the left side of my display. The traction control light and the check engine light were both illuminated below the RPM dial. After I came to a stop, I turned the ignition off and on again (the check engine light remained illuminated after cycling the ignition) and then started the bike. Within a few seconds, the MTC failure error was blinking again.

After reading several other threads, I am fortunate that my bike starts since once the error activates, it seems to keep others from starting their bikes. It also seems like this error is the ECU's universal way of keeping you from starting the bike if something is amiss, even if it's not traction control-related. I've checked the linkage that goes from the throttle body to the valve on the exhaust and it is moving freely. I read in one thread about recalibrating the throttle by twisting it slowly open and closed after cycling the ignition, but the error pops up before I even finish getting to full open. My local KTM shop was stumped over it and stated they were going to call KTM for assistance. My faith in that avenue is short given what I've read in other threads.