990 instrument cluster Fail

problems . solutions . product reviews . tips
User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:19 am

I'm have a problem with my clocks/ instrument cluster. Just fueled up for gas and took a break from my all day ride.
Got back in the saddle and nothing lighting up on the dash. Completely dead
So my headlights do work both HI/low. Brake lamps OK
Horn works and no fuses faulted, However in my fuse bank the #10 spot is blank, I mean theres no metal housing in the slot to receive the fuse blades, Is this normal? It's just an empty slot.

Anyway was wondering if you had a procedure on diagnosing the issue and fixing the problem?
On the back end of this I will be calling KTM North America in California to ask if they can replace the clocks. So no riding, commuting or getting around town for me until resolved. Not good.

Any advice, appreciated.
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:27 am

Doesn't sound like an instrument problem, they are prone to fading and losing the display but I can't recall one stopping the bike from going.

Sounds more like a broken wire or loose connection somewhere.

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:38 am

The trouble shooting section in the workshop manual say if the dash is not working to replace the horn brake light speedo fuse. If that's all good maybe check for power there and start tracking it forward or back depending if there's power at that fuse.

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:00 am

Yeah I agree. I'm pulling it apart tonight see how it's not getting power
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:16 am

Hope it's easy to find, wires seem to chafe fairly easy on these.

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:27 am

Well the strange bit is that It worked agin yesterday....
No power to the cluster for a week then out of nowhere it turned back on and started up... But once again today, nothing.
I'm diving in to it at the moment.
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:44 am

Certainly sounds like a loose connection or chafed wire

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby No. 47 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:27 am

If it’s just the speedo unit, from Soft 32 Dat 101 thread - check for broken red/white wire at 12 pole connector to bottom lhs (sitting on the bike) behind headlamp - from the wiring diagram, this appears to be the power source (excluding backlight) for the speedo unit - manual is wrong/inconsistent re description for this connector and the one above as the bottom one is definitely for the front wiring loom including the speedo unit.
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:52 am

Well I disassembled the cluster, cleaned it and put it back,
nothing happened, Lamps good but no power to cluster.
all fuses good.
I suppose the next step would be to put a multi meter on each wire plugging into the back of the clocks
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
Motogoon
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:53 am
Location: NEW Zealand

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Motogoon » Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:12 am

Have you checked the one suggested by no47 above?

User avatar
TimR
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Stockport, UK

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby TimR » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:01 am

Nola - any progress on this? I'm experiencing similar problems.
Will take off the dash later and have a look for chafing wires. Failing that will take the dash apart and re-assemble.
Just realised I have a spare lcd display with pin connectors. I might try swapping that and see if there's any difference

User avatar
Loco
Minimoto racer
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 3:15 pm
Location: Isleworth, UK

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Loco » Wed Oct 25, 2017 3:00 pm

NolaNomad wrote:Well I disassembled the cluster, cleaned it and put it back,
nothing happened, Lamps good but no power to cluster.
all fuses good.
I suppose the next step would be to put a multi meter on each wire plugging into the back of the clocks


Is the bike running ok? Check the battery main to starter solenoid connection

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:25 am

Motogoon wrote:Have you checked the one suggested by no47 above?

I did, no result, Tore into the clocks, cleaned and greased. If you do this be super careful, re assembling, tiny pins are bendy..
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:33 am

TimR wrote:Nola - any progress on this? I'm experiencing similar problems.
Will take off the dash later and have a look for chafing wires. Failing that will take the dash apart and re-assemble.
Just realised I have a spare lcd display with pin connectors. I might try swapping that and see if there's any difference

Not the dash as I can tell.
Adding to the bewilderment, I topped off the battery and popped it back in. (after of course a failed theft attempt, thief jammed a screw down my keyed ignition barrel and tried to gut my barrel). After re install battery the clocks popped back on, fuel pump primed. I was like WTF. Pulled clutch in and operated the start button:::: Nothing. no clicks
My kill switch was off so I popped that on and killed the clocks.
So I'm thinking there is something going on with the kill switch/ start button and the wiring harness.
I'm still super stumped. I need to look at the wiring diagram.
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:38 am

So I' getting hi/lo beams and indicators. Intermittent dash/clocks. No horn no start button. Battery is at 13.4 v no fuel pump prime. The kill swith does make the relay click. I can hear the clicking noise..
I've had issue with starter relay but I solved that and I get power up to headlights so..... :idea: :?: :evil:
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

User avatar
SDNerd
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 3305
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:36 am
Location: Kalifornistan

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby SDNerd » Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:17 pm

If yours is an original unit, the things are just junk. KTM knew this, and new replacements are slightly different in appearance. The original design for 2007+ weren't properly sealed, poorly connectorized, and not the most shock/vibration resistant electronics (if they tested it at all, other than road use on bikes).

If convinced it isn't an intermittent at the connector or cabling to the unit, the unit itself isn't really serviceable.

IIRC, I have a replacement - new style, NIB - if interested, PM me.

User avatar
TimR
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Stockport, UK

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby TimR » Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:11 pm

Finally concluded my dash saga - after pulling it apart numerous times in the desperate hope I might find an obvious reason for it not working properly, then eventually giving up and accepting that it was more than likely the unit itself that had failed (I read all the threads and still wasn't 100% sure).

So a couple of months ago, I received, at great expense (£294) a new dash from Trevor Pope. At the time I'd just had a back operation so wasn't able to install until today.

In addition, I'd had an electrical problem so ordered a new battery and borrowed a reg/rec from No47 - thanks Steve 8)
I fitted the rectifier and battery first - bike starting and running fine but dash backlight only illuminating - no needle sweep, LCD display etc.
So I fitted the new dash and it works just fine - looks good too.

One 'small' problem though - I was told that before they could issue a replacement, KTM needed to know my VIN and mileage. So I sent the info off.
When the dash lit up for the first time today, it registered 41030 miles - not the 25500 that I told them - f***ing idiots! :evil:

Its clear from the mileage on the MOT certificates that its unlikely to be anywhere near 40000 miles and I think I did less than 2000 miles this year.
So now I'm going to have to haggle with them - they'll probably tell me to send it back for KTM to reset. I think I'd rather have a letter from KTM confirming what the genuine mileage was and a substantial partial refund. I don't know how likely this is :roll:

User avatar
Scotty
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 12:47 pm
Location: Corsham, Wilts (UK)

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Scotty » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:38 am

It could be that the new unit is reading in kilometres as the value you have correlates pretty much exactly to 25,500 miles. Best give them a call tomorrow to try and sort it out.
Wheelies - they ARE big, and they ARE clever....

User avatar
Adrock990r
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:22 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia.

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby Adrock990r » Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:54 pm

Scotty wrote:It could be that the new unit is reading in kilometres as the value you have correlates pretty much exactly to 25,500 miles. Best give them a call tomorrow to try and sort it out.


Exactly what they have done - 25500 miles = 41038 Kilometres. Sorry to ask but is it definitely showing miles? Cause if it is in Kilometres it's easy to swap it to miles by holding down the mode button for 10 + seconds with the ignition on. But i guess you would have checked that already :)

User avatar
TimR
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Stockport, UK

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby TimR » Mon Jan 01, 2018 2:04 pm

Scotty you are a genius and yes - I’m an idiot. The clue was in the kph under the speedo display. All sorted now - just hold down the top button for 10 seconds and it switches to mph. Now showing 25500 miles. Thanks :)

User avatar
NolaNomad
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: SanFrancisco

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby NolaNomad » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:19 pm

SDNerd wrote:If yours is an original unit, the things are just junk. KTM knew this, and new replacements are slightly different in appearance. The original design for 2007+ weren't properly sealed, poorly connectorized, and not the most shock/vibration resistant electronics (if they tested it at all, other than road use on bikes).

If convinced it isn't an intermittent at the connector or cabling to the unit, the unit itself isn't really serviceable.

IIRC, I have a replacement - new style, NIB - if interested, PM me.

Hey SDnred
Looks like I may be into the cluster.
I cant figure out whats going on with the intermittent clocks.
You still selling?
"satisfaction is the death of desire"

dickies
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:59 pm

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby dickies » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:31 pm

No. 47 wrote:If it’s just the speedo unit, from Soft 32 Dat 101 thread - check for broken red/white wire at 12 pole connector to bottom lhs (sitting on the bike) behind headlamp - from the wiring diagram, this appears to be the power source (excluding backlight) for the speedo unit - manual is wrong/inconsistent re description for this connector and the one above as the bottom one is definitely for the front wiring loom including the speedo unit.

bang on right no 47, broken wire at terminal. remade with new terminal all instruments back on , cheers, really rate this forum :D

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: 990 instrument cluster Fail

Postby No. 47 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:49 pm

Mine's a Guinness.........................
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S


Return to Technical - Dr F's Words of Wisdom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest