Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

general forum > questions . answers . discussions
User avatar
RichUK
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: England

Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

Postby RichUK » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:45 am

I've seen a write up (somewhere) where the guy did a full hose replacement and it required stripping the bike of the tank, filter and throttle bodies. Is that really required?

I'm getting some coolant loss from the thermostat downward hose. It has already got doubled up clamps on there (the OEM crimp type one and then a worn drive one below it :roll: ).
I'm thinking of getting full hose kit and new clamps to sort this once and for all.

Is it possible to do this whole job by just dropping the oil tank or moving the radiator outwards?
(I have a motohooligan airbox btw so that opens up the engine for side access.)

Is it possible to replace just the RHS ones (to the rad lower hose and all the small thermostat ones) by just dropping the oil tank or moving the radiator outwards?

If possible I'd like to do the minimum needed to stop the coolant loss now and finish off the job over winter when I'll probably be in there checking the valve clearances.

Edit: SD990 btw

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2954
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

Postby No. 47 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:41 am

Top down strip (probably) required as it's a b*gger to get at the hoses between the cylinder heads - are you sure it's not leaking from the joint of the two halves of the thermostat?
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
RichUK
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: England

Re: Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

Postby RichUK » Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:36 am

I can't really tell where it's coming from exactly as I can't really see it.

What's the easiest way to get a better view, undo the radiator and let is sag outwards?

User avatar
No. 47
Master of the twisties
 
Posts: 2954
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm
Location: London and Kent

Re: Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

Postby No. 47 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 12:59 pm

Only coolant leak I’ve had (apart from radiator.......) is from thermostat joint and that only after a lot of miles - might be work splitting thermostat and re-sealing to see if that’s problem before embarking on replacing hoses.
'08 ex-Battle race KTM Superduke 990 R No.47
'08 OE KTM Superduke 990 R
'01 Ducati 996S

User avatar
Adrock990r
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:22 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia.

Re: Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

Postby Adrock990r » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:38 pm

No. 47 wrote:Only coolant leak I’ve had (apart from radiator.......) is from thermostat joint and that only after a lot of miles - might be work splitting thermostat and re-sealing to see if that’s problem before embarking on replacing hoses.


Yep i agree with No.47 as my 08sdr leaked from the same spot and i know many others have dealt with the same leak. Not sure how to easily access your t/stat as they have a different set up to the 08sdr but probably easier to just remove the fuel tank either way and have a better look and more space to work. I've done the hose replacement on mine and i would not recommend trying without removing the throttle bodies. But to me it's not a huge task to remove them as i have done it a few times now, you just need to be careful handling them and paying attention to not man handle the throttle linkages. Also do yourself a favour and cover or block the intakes to the engine straight away so you have no way of accidentally dropping anything into the belly of the beast. I enjoy working on my ktm but when i did the hose changeover i found it to be nothing short of a bastard of a task from start to finish. The sdr has a few spots that leave absolutely zero room to put a hose and clamp onto with adult sized hands and fingers, namely next to the coolant temp sensor on the left of the rear cylinder, the hose into right side rear of the front cylinder and hoses behind the oil tank, especially if the aftermarket hoses have thicker walls than the oem hoses do.

User avatar
RichUK
Two wheeled terror
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: England

Re: Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

Postby RichUK » Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:29 pm

Just been out to have yet another poke around, took the RHS shroud off but that didn't really help with visibility of the area.

Coolant is collecting on the lower hose clamp and seems to be coming from the top hose clamp, as far as I can make out. I have tried to look all around the thermostat housing (using a small torch & a mirror) and I'm pretty sure it's dry all round. Also the hose that runs from the T-stat housing to the radiator looks a little damp as the T-stat end.

I think if I renewed just the 3 hoses that run to/from the T-stat it would sort it for now.
I'm guessing with the radiator removed I could get to these pretty easily... time will tell.

User avatar
shadowman
Wheelie king
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: England

Re: Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

Postby shadowman » Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:46 pm

I did the job.

Its not especially challenging but it is fiddly.

I took everything off (Tank, reservoirs, rad, TB's etc) but I was doing an overall refurb job so some of what I removed might not have been necessary) At minimum you would need to get down to the throttle bodies, cant see how it could be done without. Was bloody fiddly even with everything off.

Good luck.
Recovering superbike addict

User avatar
Stratkat
Trackday hero
 
Posts: 2273
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:37 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: Coolant hose change - can it be easy?

Postby Stratkat » Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:54 pm

i replaced all the hoses. the only thing i removed were the plastic shrouds (had a Motobox). i have big hands too. this was like 5 years ago and i replaced them with a silicon set. the reason i mention this is there were screw clamps with the new set. the trick for me was to put everything together, then position the clamps to get them in a position to tighten everything down. if memory serves me right it only took about 5 hours.


Return to Hooliganism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests